Misdemeanor convictions in Utah can carry serious penalties. Even a single misdemeanor charge can carry up to one year in jail plus a fine (including surcharge) of up to $4,750. If you are facing prosecution for criminal charges in Davis County, Utah, the assistance of an experienced criminal attorney can be critical to achieving a successful result in your case.
Criminal defense lawyer Stephen Howard provides services to clients in Davis County and throughout Utah. Contact us today to arrange for an initial consultation.
Defending Misdemeanor Cases in Davis County
To determine the best strategy for defending your Davis County misdemeanor case, it is important to make a careful review of all discovery materials (including police reports, witness statements, physical evidence, video or audio recordings, and other information relevant to the case). Independent investigation may also be necessary to locate critical evidence and determine essential facts.
There is no one-size-fits-all defense strategy. We conduct a thorough factual and legal analysis of each case, striving to identify the strengths and weaknesses in both the defense and prosecution cases. This analysis and information is vital in determining what defenses are available, and which strategies have the best chance of success.
Perhaps the most important part of formulating the best defense strategy for the case is meeting with each individual client. Each client will approach their case with their own unique set of needs, background, and circumstances. In order to determine the best strategy for defending the case, we have to understand our client’s goals. Only then can we develop the best defense strategy.
Potential Penalties in Misdemeanor Cases
The following maximum penalties may be imposed in Utah misdemeanor cases:
- Class C Misdemeanor – 90 days jail; $1,425 (fine including surcharge)
- Class B Misdemeanor – 180 days jail; $1,900 (fine including surcharge)
- Class A Misdemeanor – 365 days jail; $4,750 (fine including surcharge)
If you are charged with multiple misdemeanors in the same case or if you are facing multiple cases, a sentencing judge can elect to impose jail terms either concurrently (running simultaneously) or consecutively (running back-to-back). For example, two class B misdemeanor sentences run consecutively could result in nearly one year in jail (180 + 180 = 360 days jail).
Collateral Consequences for Misdemeanor Convictions
The consequences for a criminal conviction in Davis County can include more than just the penalties imposed by the judge. In addition to jail time and fines, a criminal conviction can affect a person’s employment, weapon possession rights, driving privileges (driver license), professional licenses, and much more. If the court suspends jail time and places a defendant on probation, conditions often include counseling and treatment, drug testing, community service, curfews, restrictions on personal associations, the payment of restitution for damages or injuries caused by a defendant’s criminal conduct, and more.